The Fret Wire

Reviews, experiences and complaints

Order 4
Service 3
Price 6
Delivery 3.8

Total

4.2
37.5% would buy here again

The Fret Wire

Do you have a thing for guitars? Do you want to build your own electric guitar kit from scratch? Then you should pay a visit to The Fret Wire. It's an internet store where you can buy DIY guitar kits. Before purchasing any of their products, please read the online customer reviews left by previous customers.

About The Fret Wire

The Fret Wire is a web-based retailer of DIY guitar kits. Although the company's production is located in Jinan, China, all of the guitar kits are imported and stored in Salt Lake City, Utah. Their goal is to inject some colour into the world of factory-made guitars. The Fret Wire provide guitar kits to enthusiastic players and builders. Their kits cater to both beginners and experts, providing options for every budget and ability level. Check out The Fret Wire review and get to know them more and their products.

Products and Services of The Fret Wire

Guitar Kits, Bass Guitar Kits, Guitar Parts, tools and accessories are the several categories of Fret Wire items. Single Cut Style Guitar, Solid Body, Semi and Hollow Body Guitar and Bass Guitar are some of The Fret Wire guitar kits. Skilled personnel are responsible for constructing each piece of the guitar kit at their partner plant in Jinan, China. They understand what it takes to make a guitar perform well and each guitar kit is designed with that goal in mind. The Fret Wire accepts the following payment methods: Amex, Discover, MasterCard, and Visa. You can visit The Fret Wire store and get to have a look at the guitars present.

Shipping and dropping Services of The Fret Wire

The Fret Wire company provides shipping services to almost every country on the planet. All orders are shipped from Salt Lake City, Utah, USA. In the United States, standard UPS ground shipment takes 1 to 5 working days, plus one day for handling. International shipping varies by region due to the size and weight of the kits. Sales tax is only collected for sales within the United States in Utah, where The Fret Wire, LLC maintains a physical presence. The Fret Wire does not collect or pay VAT or other taxes or fees on behalf of various jurisdictions worldwide for international sales.

Return Policy of The Fret Wire

Return the item to the company within 60 days if you change your mind or are not pleased with your purchase and you will receive a full refund. Requests received more than 60 days after the deadline will be ignored. Before you begin assembling, you must report any defects. Before applying finishes or making alterations to a guitar kit, it should be a dry fit. Partially completed guitar kits are not eligible for refunds.

Compliments, Complaints, Tips and Reviews of Fret Wire

Have you ever utilized any of The Fret Wire's products? Were you impressed with the product you bought? Would you suggest The Fret Wire's product to a friend? What is the quality of their customer service? Is The Fret Wire legit? Do you have any suggestions for how the company can enhance its products and services? Please contact them if you have any complaints.

What type of company is The Fret Wire? You can read the customer experience and feedback and learn more about the guitars offered by them.

Reviews, experiences and complaints

Read independent reviews, complaints and experiences here. Be aware of where to make your purchase or rate a shop where you have made an (online) purchase yourself. This way everybody decides for themselves which shops are bad and good!

Spotlight: What do our customers say?

B
Bob-manuel V. 1 year ago
9
I will say this, I spent a couple months researching diy kits from different websites. For my first guitar build I chose Fretwire. For the second, and now my third guitar build I am sticking...
J
Jeff 5 months ago
4
I ordered a DIY guitar kit from thefretwire on 8/8/22. As of today I've received zero notifications regarding shipping, and I'm unable to connect with an actual human being to get an update...
J
John k 3 days ago
3.5
I ordered a headless bass kit in November of last year but to this day have received nothing. I have emailed them, used their contact form from the website and even called and left a message...
L
Leonard 11 months ago
2
We ordered and of course our money is immediately taken, then we were sent a email telling us that they were having in house problems fulfilling orders and it would be a month to receive. A...
A
Anthony Reynolds 4 months ago
2
Do not do business with this store. I ordered the kit two weeks ago, and when a few days passed with no shipping notification, I emailed them. They sent me a BS response about "wareho...

All reviews ( 8 )

TL Style Electric Guitar Kit

I will say this, I spent a couple months researching diy kits from different websites. For my first guitar build I chose Fretwire. For the second, and now my third guitar build I am sticking with Fretwire. I was lucky to choose them over their competitors. It seems like each kit was better than the last one. My first build came out awesome. I play it every day. It keeps tune for multiple days The music shop I took it to insisted that I purchased it. They are not perfect, but they are perfect for those who are not afraid to make it perfect. Watch a couple YouTube vids on fit and finishing a guitar and you will have a perfect guitar. The neck and body alignment are very good. You won’t have too many issues with alignments as their quality department ensures that you are getting a neck and body that will be easy to assemble. These kits allow you to upgrade parts if you wish. I went with a gotoh/fender bridges and locking tuners. The pickups have decent tones. These Tele kits are really fun to build. I even more fun to play something that you can build for yourself

B
Bob-manuel V. 1 year ago
Order
8
Service
10
Price
8
Delivery
10
Total
9
Would buy here again?

DIY guitar kit

I ordered a DIY guitar kit from thefretwire on 8/8/22. As of today I've received zero notifications regarding shipping, and I'm unable to connect with an actual human being to get an update. I did email them last week and haven't got a response. I've also left a voicemail...same results. The kit should have been shipped within 4 days of my order based on what their website lists. I'm glad I ordered using a credit card so I should be able to dispute the charges and get a full refund. I'm bummed because this was going to be a fun project to complete with my daughter.

J
Jeff 5 months ago
Order
6
Service
2
Price
6
Delivery
2
Total
4
Would buy here again?

Headlessbasskit

I ordered a headless bass kit in November of last year but to this day have received nothing. I have emailed them, used their contact form from the website and even called and left a message all to no avail. They took my money quick enough but refuse to answer Inquiries about the order and ignore the request for a refund and cancelation of the order they seem unable to fill.

J
John k 3 days ago
Order
2
Service
2
Price
8
Delivery
2
Total
3.5
Would buy here again?

Diy kits

We ordered and of course our money is immediately taken, then we were sent a email telling us that they were having in house problems fulfilling orders and it would be a month to receive. After a few days of emailing back and forth then we were told 2 weeks instead of a month. After a few more emails and a couple more days we're told a week We were told "We have received a shipment and things are being processed". A week goes by nothing. We start contacting them again. By this time we are pushing 2 weeks. They have a shipping label on part of the order and said it would ship in 24 hours. A week later nothing. At this time they let us know half of our order is out of stock. Pushing 3 weeks later. Then when they refunded our money we had to remind them to refund the shipping cost. The part of the order that had a shipping label went a few more days they garantueed us that it has been shipped and was going to get us a new tracking number. Finally after a few days they got back with us and told us that this part of the order was out of stock also and was refunding the entire order. Extremely bad experience. The absolute worst shopping experience I have ever had shopping online.

L
Leonard 11 months ago
Order
2
Service
2
Price
2
Delivery
2
Total
2
Would buy here again?

Headless Bass Guitar kit

Do not do business with this store. I ordered the kit two weeks ago, and when a few days passed with no shipping notification, I emailed them. They sent me a BS response about "warehouse issues" and said it would be shipped by the end of the next week, which would have been yesterday. I responded and asked them to cancel the order. They ignored me. I emailed again, asking them if they'd received my last email. They ignored me again . I emailed a third time, telling them that I would be happy if they either shipped it or refunded my order, and nothing. I called them and left a message, because they very conveniently only have a message only number available.

Nothing.

What seems to have happened is that this company is selling out of stock products without notifying customers of their backorder status, and then instead of cancelling the orders right away when asked to, they're waiting until they actually get the order shipped, in the hope that people will change their mind about cancelling if they have to go through the trouble of sending the item back. This is comically bad business practice and I hope that no one who reads this makes the same mistake I did and chalk the bad reviews up to flukes. These people do not deserve your business.

A
Anthony Reynolds 4 months ago
Order
2
Service
2
Price
2
Delivery
2
Total
2
Would buy here again?

EV Style Electric Guitar Kit

I ordered a guitar kit and never got an email or any other contact from them. But, they did take my money.

J
Jeff 4 months ago
Order
2
Service
2
Price
10
Delivery
2
Total
4
Would buy here again?

Singlecut 12 string electric guitar kit

I bought the kit but only received enough tuner ferrules and washers for a six string guitar. I have tried multiple times to contact the company to correct the problem but have gotten no response.

K
Ken Larsson 9 months ago
Order
8
Service
2
Price
8
Delivery
8
Total
6.5
Would buy here again?

diy bass kit

Ordered a bass kit weeks ago. Still has not shipped. Charged full amount plus shipping. Sent an email and they told me items are not always scanned when they leave. Complete lie. Priority mail would have been here by now.

R
Richard 10 months ago
Order
2
Service
2
Price
4
Delivery
2
Total
2.5
Would buy here again?

Write your own review